top of page
Search
  • litchick4ever5

Book Review: Expiration Dates

Updated: Apr 10

Expiration Dates by Rebecca Serle.



My Review


The premise for Expiration Dates sounded interesting to me so I picked up a copy. I had seen this book being posted about and shared about on social media and it interested me enough to get a copy and read it so I could find out what all the excitement was about. This is the first book I have read by Rebecca Serle.


When I was reading Expiration Dates, I didn't feel like there was enough background given for the reader as to why Daphne is receiving the notes and this kind of let my mind wander and start to ask questions of things I wanted to know to get more immersed in the story. This kind of pulled me out of the story.


I found the story to be a bit predictable and it felt to me like it took a long time for the story to come full circle and arrive at an ending which I could see coming. I didn't really understand the role of the notes and was wondering if she really was happy with a man she was dating at the time she received a note, why couldn't she just ignore it and make her own decision.


I feel like you kind of have to suspend disbelief and not ask logical questions when reading this book to truly be able to enjoy the reading. I couldn't really relate to the choices that Daphne made and I found myself wondering if she knew her relationship with one man was only going to last 3 days, for example, why give so much of myself to that person. I didn't feel particularly invested in the main characters or their story.


I have a few other books by Rebecca Serle on my shelf including In Five Years and One Italian Summer and I have to decide if I want to invest my time in the reading of those books or just pass on them. If I decide to read them, which doesn't seem too likely, it won't be for some time.


My Rating: 3/5

📆 📆 📆


Book Details

Author: Rebecca Serle

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: March 19, 2024

Genre: Romance. Fiction. Magical Realism. Fantasy. Contemporary Romance.

Edition: Paperback

Pages: 272


 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page