top of page
Search
  • litchick4ever5

Book Review: Never Coming Home

Never Coming Home by Hannah Mary McKinnon.

Thank you to the author and Harper Collins Canada/Mira Books for the gifted copy in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis


First comes love. Then comes murder.

Lucas Forester didn't hate his wife. Michelle was brilliant, sophisticated and beautiful. Sure, she had extravagant spending habits and that petty attitude, a total disregard for anyone below her status. But she also had a lot to offer. Most notably, wealth that only the one percent could comprehend.


For years, Lucas had been honing a flawless plan to inherit Michelle’s fortune. Unfortunately, it involved taking a hit out on her.


Every track was covered, no trace left behind, and now Lucas plays the grieving husband so well he deserves an award. But when a shocking photo and cryptic note show up on his doorstep, Lucas goes from hunter to prey.


Someone is onto him. And they’re closing in.


Told with dark wit and a sharply feminist sensibility, Never Coming Home is a terrifying tale of duplicity that will have you side-eyeing your spouse as you dash to the breathtaking end.


My Review

Never Coming Home is a suspenseful, twisty read. There is a little part in the second half of the book, where the pacing of the plot does drag a tiny bit, but the pace soon picks up again.


I feel that although this thriller was overall an entertaining read, I found the plot twist to be predictable and I felt like I already knew what was going to happen and there was a little surprise for me in the end, but I was still right.


I enjoy reading a thriller where I think I have it all figured out, and I am proven wrong with a solid ending. For me, my rating reflects the predictable nature of this book. I may not have 100% figured out the how, but I knew the who and the why was pretty easy to figure out.


My Rating: 3.75/5

⭐⭐⭐.75

 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page