top of page
Search
  • litchick4ever5

Book Review: Practical Magic.

Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman.



Synopsis


The Owens sisters confront the challenges of life and love in this bewitching novel from New York Times bestselling author Alice Hoffman.


For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been blamed for everything that has gone wrong in their Massachusetts town. Gillian and Sally have endured that fate as well: as children, the sisters were forever outsiders, taunted, talked about, pointed at. Their elderly aunts almost seemed to encourage the whispers of witchery, with their musty house and their exotic concoctions and their crowd of black cats. But all Gillian and Sally wanted was to escape.


One will do so by marrying, the other by running away. But the bonds they share will bring them back—almost as if by magic...


My Thoughts


I have watched the Practical Magic movie starring Sandra Bullock, Nicole Kidman, Dianne West, Stockard Channing. and Aidan Quinn several times and I had never read the book. I generally like to read the book before watching the movie or tv series based on a novel, but this time things were done the opposite. Reading this book makes me want to watch it again.


This book is about fate, destiny, the bond between sisters, one's first love, and also second chances at love. I could see scenes from the movie in my head as I was reading this book. I very much look forward to reading the rest of the series which are currently sitting on my bedroom bookshelf.


My Rating: 5/5

🧹🧹🧹🧹🧹


Book Details

Author: Alice Hoffman.

Publisher: Penguin.

Publication Date: August 5, 2003.

Genre: Fiction. Magical Realism. Paranormal - Witches. Fantasy - Magic. Fantasy - Paranormal. Romance. Women's fiction.

Edition: Paperback.

Pages: 286.


 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page